Forum

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

WRVD487

PreviousPage 2 of 2

Thank you Ray! 🙂

I have everything I need to know now. I'm still learning but with your simple perfectly laid out instructions on the setup page and all the info you have provided, I should be good to go.

I will send the node request email once I have everything setup and ready.

Thanks again for all your help! 🙂 I greatly appreciate it!

Anytime, enjoy the journey.

WRVD487 has reacted to this post.
WRVD487

Update on my X30A antenna. Although I loved the way it looked on the porch, I wasn't too satisfied with how it was performing. So I ended up mounting it on my fire escape.

I know I mentioned earlier in this thread that my landlord doesn't allow exterior antennas, but I really don't care anymore. With all the crap he puts us through and with the constant rent increases, he's lucky I don't put the antenna up on the roof. Ramona and I are actually looking to move soon anyway.

The antenna has been mounted on the fire escape since right before last Christmas and so far so good. I may raise it up higher though. I'm located in Smith Hill section of Providence and I can now hit the Kingston 600 and the MetroWest 675 Repeaters where I couldn't before. The North Providence Repeater is clear as day for me now. Distance in simplex has drastically increased as well and I can now also monitor all HAM Repeaters in New England.

Uploaded files:
  • Untitled.jpg
WRXC419 has reacted to this post.
WRXC419

I am so excited to be learning about GMRS. I love to listen to everyone learning a lot pretty soon I will have a node so I can get off of Zello

Rick & Stephanie

Uploaded files:
  • IMG_2040.jpeg
WRVD487 has reacted to this post.
WRVD487

Welcome to NEGMRS Rick! There's plenty of friendly people on the network with tons of knowledge and are willing to help anyone. I myself is fairly new to the network and still learning new things.